Rodrigo Leads Real Madrid to Spanish Cup Victory

Brazilian Rodrigo Goes led his team Real Madrid to win the Spanish Cup in football, by scoring two goals that secured the team's victory over Osasuna in the final match, held at La Cartuja Stadium in the city of Seville on Saturday evening.

Real Madrid ended their drought in the championship since 2014, compensating for their theoretical failure to retain the Spanish league title, which is currently led by Barcelona with a 14-point difference ahead of 5 rounds remaining.

Rodrigo opened the scoring just two minutes into the game with a powerful shot from inside the penalty area after a brilliant individual effort by his compatriot Vinicius Junior, who dribbled from the left side and provided a golden opportunity to his teammate.

Afterwards, Real Madrid had more than one opportunity to extend their lead through Vinicius and the Frenchman Karim Benzema, but the score remained unchanged during the first half.

In the second half, Osasuna launched their attacks until they managed to equalize through Lucas Torro, who scored a powerful shot from outside the penalty area after receiving a pass from the Moroccan Abdel Samad Az-Zulzuli, which deflected off Real Madrid's defenders.

Rodrigo returned to add his second goal for himself and Real Madrid in the 70th minute, taking advantage of Osasuna's defenders failing to clear the ball after another breakthrough by Vinicius, this time from the left flank.

Real Madrid increased their tally to 20 titles in the Spanish Cup, securing the third position in the list of the most successful teams, behind Barcelona (31 titles) and Athletic Bilbao (23 titles).

With this victory, Italian coach Carlo Ancelotti of Real Madrid is now just one title away from equaling the record of Frenchman Zinedine Zidane. Zidane won 11 titles with Real Madrid, while Ancelotti has won 10 titles. It's worth noting that the all-time leader in coaching honors is Miguel Muñoz, who won 14 titles during his 15-year tenure as Real Madrid's coach between 1960 and 1974.